|EndNote® Online||Contents | Index | Glossary | Search Help | Search Technical Support | Quick Reference Card|
|Sync and Transfer with EndNote Desktop|
You can synchronize your library in EndNote X6 or later with your library in EndNote online. The Sync process automatically synchronizes both sets of references so that an exact match exists in both EndNote desktop and EndNote online.
The data in EndNote desktop and EndNote online are merged in both applications when you run Sync. You will have identical groups and references when Sync completes processing.
The Sync process includes all data changes to references (including file attachments) during the Sync process so that each library matches the other. For example, if you add or remove references and/or PDF files in EndNote desktop, then those changes are updated in EndNote online and vice-versa.
The Sync process includes updates and additions to groups in both libraries. For example, if you create and add references to a new group in EndNote desktop, then you will see this group in EndNote online the next time you run the Sync process.
The Sync process is always initiated from EndNote desktop. Consult Help in EndNote desktop for details about Sync.
You can transfer references from EndNote desktop to My References and from My References to EndNote desktop. Transfers are always initiated through EndNote desktop. File attachments may be transferred between EndNote desktop and EndNote online.
Transfer Rules for File Attachments
EndNote desktop preferences allow you to specify that an attachment be inserted as a relative link or with an absolute path. To transfer file attachments between EndNote desktop and EndNote online, the relative link option should be selected. See preferences in EndNote desktop Help for more details.
When transferring references with attachments, all new attachments are transferred in both directions regardless of the selected transfer direction. That is, attachments are added to both sides during a transfer even though the transfer occurs in one direction.
For example, let us assume Reference X in EndNote desktop has three attachments. The same Reference X in EndNote online has two different attachments. During the transfer process, desktop transfers the three attachments to EndNote online. At the same time, EndNote online transfers the two attachments to desktop. The two references now share the same attachments.
The following rules will apply if you have installed EndNote X5 or later and have an account with EndNote online. These rules are controlled by your accounts limits.
Deletion Rules for File Attachments
File attachments that have been transferred, but are then deleted from either EndNote desktop or EndNote online will appear on both sides during a subsequent transfer. You must manually delete an attachment in both EndNote desktop and EndNote online to keep the two references in common.For example, let us assume that you transfer Reference X (containing an attachment) from EndNote desktop to EndNote online. Later, you delete the attachment from the desktop reference but you decide to keep the attachment in the online reference.
Later, you perform another transfer of Reference X (either from desktop to online or vice-versa) and the reference contains a new attachment. In this instance, the new attachment is transferred. The attachment that you previously removed from the desktop reference is automatically restored when the transfer process completes.
EndNote desktop preferences allow you to specify that an attachment be inserted as a relative link or with an absolute path. To transfer file attachments between EndNote desktop and EndNote online, the relative link option should be selected. Refer to Help in EndNote desktop for more details.
Formatted Cite While You Write documents are fully compatible between EndNote online and EndNote desktop or later.
Fields containing links to files in the EndNote.Data folder are not editable in EndNote online. These fields are File Attachments and Figure Attachments.
Transfer and Sync
Transfer and Sync used together with mixed versions can result in duplicates. Use Find Duplicates when this occurs.
Sync will identify transferred references as duplicates. Use Find Duplicates when this occurs.